‘This Is Still All About Brexit’: Readers on the British Election – New York Times

‘This Is Still All About Brexit’: Readers on the British Election – New York Times

http://ift.tt/2r4GBj7

‘This Is Still All About Brexit’: Readers on the British Election

Election workers deliver ballot boxes in Edinburgh, Scotland, this week.CreditAndy Buchanan/Agence France-Presse — Getty Images

On June 8, Britain goes to the polls in a snap election unexpectedly called by Prime Minister Theresa May. Originally predicted to be a landslide victory for the Conservative Party, polls show the Labour Party, under Jeremy Corbyn, closing the gap. Could there be an electoral upset of Trump-like proportions?

Ahead of one of the most unpredictable elections in recent British history, we asked readers to share their thoughts on Facebook. Here’s some of what they said. (Comments have been edited for length and clarity.)


“I’m seriously considering spoiling my ballot paper which would be a first for me. Not impressed with any of them. I used to vote Labour but [Jeremy] Corbyn is so far out on the left, not to mention having shown no real leadership until this election, I won’t be doing that,” ABIGAIL HONEYWELL wrote.

“Theresa May has refused to stand and debate any of the issues,” CATHERINE SAINT wrote. “Her speeches are one line platitudes or trite statements that mean nothing (Brexit means Brexit/Enough is Enough/Strong and Stable/Put your faith in me, like I do to you). I think we deserve more from a Prime Minister and a government … I’ll be voting Labour on Thursday.”

“This is still all about Brexit for me,” SARAH GIRLING wrote. “We laugh at Trump and his ludicrous wall, yet we are busy knocking down the bridges which took so much time and dedication to build across our own English Channel.”

“As a British voter, and in a ‘safe’ Conservative constituency, it’s important to register for me what we’re doing to our Planet as the single major issue for us and our children,” RICHARD MORGAN wrote. “Although I strongly support much (not all) of what Jeremy Corbyn stands for, and admire his consistency in doing so, I’m voting Green to add one to their national vote total.”

“I had never in my life belonged to a political party and I officially joined the Lib Dems after Corbyn said he would not oppose the triggering of article 50. But because for me the most important issue in this election is Brexit and how we define our relationship with Europe going forward, I will vote strategically,” ALINA ROCHA MENOCAL wrote.

“People talk about Corbyn being too far to the left, but many of the proposals make quite a lot of sense. Basic services — transport, water, utilities including communications — if these could be provided more efficiently and at lower cost it would go a long way in wealth redistribution,” PAUL THIND wrote.

“Britain has voted to leave the EU. Theresa May is the only person strong enough to negotiate a fair deal for the British people,” JUDY FREY BLAKE wrote.

“This is purely and simply about playing whatever part I can to defeat Brexit: above all, that is what this election is about … In my case then the obvious thing then is to vote for the [Scottish National Party], in the hope that their strength of 50+ MPs at Westminster will provide much of that oppositional buffer to Brexit,” RICHARD HARRIS wrote.


Follow The New York Times Opinion section on Facebook and Twitter (@NYTopinion), and sign up for the Opinion Today newsletter

Leave a Reply

